Archive for February 11th, 2012

How to Modulate Intensity


Article I found on T-Nation about intensity. While some consider that they can do 20 working sets and they go to failure on each of these, the reality is they do not.

I am writing an article about this subject at the moment. For me it’s about hitting top sets on each exercise (close to 100% intensity) and making consistent progress. Others will have an alternative view.

Branch Warren

T NATION | How to Modulate Intensity.

,

Leave a comment

Training triceps- powerbuilding style


I like to train my triceps several times each week. One heavy day and 2-3 extra workouts. The extra days are lighter and I don’t touch barbells or dumbbells. On these days I use higher reps and use bands, cables and machines.

The heavy day is an intense session and we do 20 plus sets. This shocks many people but most of them bench under 100 kg with half reps. My philosophy is again powerbuilding. One core exercise with a top set of 5-6 reps and backing off with some volume. And then backing off with some volume such as 2 sets of 8 and 2 sets of 10 reps. So we have completed about 10 sets before we head to part 2 of the workout.

The important thing with floor press is too lift as much weight as possible. I want to break a record for reps (5-6 reps) every time I train. So we take our time and remember the goal.

Part 2 is bodybuilding style. Again the objective is hypertrophy and improving weak points. A typical workout will be:

1. Incline barbell tricep extension- 12, 10, 8, 10, 12
2. Cable rope overhead extension- 5×15 reps
3. Tricep pushdowns- 12, 10, 8, 6, 8, 10, 12

This is a short and intense session. We move quickly and it’s over in 30-40 minutes (not including the floor press).

Here is some footage of Jeremy floor pressing. His top set on 140 and his first down set.

, ,

Leave a comment